Slimming World VS Calorie Counting 🍔🍣🍫🍑

So, back in September 2016 I joined Slimming World. And as I have said in previous blogs, it was the BEST decision I’ve ever made when it comes to losing weight. 

Being in a group where I know I’m not alone is extremely comforting and encouraging! 

It all started fantastic! Every week I’d have MASSIVE losses of around 3.5-5lb. I’d get the shiny stickers… receive Slimmer of the week pretty much EVERY week, and Slimmer of the month EVERY month! Losing weight was great! 

I think it’s pretty standard for the weight to drop off quickly at the beginning; the more you have to lose the quicker you lose it, kinda thing. 

I love Slimming World because you can eat as much food as you like, obviously within the guidelines! But it’s fantastic. And I think this is what attracts most people! 

Now if you’re reading this and you’re losing weight perfectly, then I wouldn’t do anything different just yet. I mean why would you? You enjoy that free food! 😍 

But for me, There came a point around 4 weeks ago where I hit a wall. My weight was not budging! I’d either be gaining half a pound, maintaining, or even after an extremely good week, I’d only lose half a pound. 

I then fell off the wagon completely and binge ate for a whole week! It was that bad that I gained 7lb … yeah, in 1 WEEK 😵 

As Instagram is so frickin’ awesome, I turned to my followers and explained I was struggling (I’m always 100% honest with my Instagram family) to which one of my dearest SW friends referred me to a lovely lady, who is now my absolute favourite, but anyway…  She had done Slimming World and had come to the same point that I am at now.

And this is when I heard about Calorie Counting and My Fitness Pal. My Fitness Pal is an app that tells you how many calories you can have a day, and it allows you to track your meals by simply scanning ingredients etc! It has a quick questionnaire when you first download it, including how much you want to lose, to which it then determines your calorie intake! 🙋🏻 

So, I downloaded it, filled it in and started to give it a go! 

The first day of calorie counting was AWFUL. I was constantly hungry on that first day! But I knew it was like anything, say for instance, giving up smoking. The first day is always the hardest, but it’s for a good outcome, remember that! 

Anyway, as the week went on, it got easier and easier. Weigh day came… 5.5LB LOSS! Whipeeeeeee 💪🏻

I was over the moon. That had been the true biggest loss I’d had in so sooo long! 

Second week was star ⭐️ week, and I told myself, ‘oh here we go again, that’s another week I won’t lose and possibly even gain’ … I lost 2LB! 😵 

I then thought it was safe to say that this Calorie Counting malarkey was doing its thing! It was working for me! Grand! To be honest, I no longer felt like I was on a ‘diet’! 

I do still follow the basics of SW alongside Calorie Counting, and I still pay attention to Syns and Healthy Extras most days. BUT the BEST THING about Calorie Counting is that if you’re out and about, or really fancy a certain snack, you can just add it to your calorie count and still lose weight perfectly! Guilt free! I don’t feel like I have to worry when I’m on the go, if I have to pop into a shop and buy something quick and easy to shove down my throat… I CAN do! 😂😍

Some people may see it as a pain to count calories all the time, but the My Fitness Pal app makes it 100000x easier to track, and for me I believe it’s worth it. 

One piece of advise I will give and that id like my viewers to think about, is that there isn’t only just 1 diet out there. If you’ve hit a wall with one, don’t be afraid to try another! I know that for me, including Calorie Counting into my life made me feel guilty at first, because I’ve been doing SW for so long! But it’s whatever works best for YOU! And Calorie Counting has worked for me, and I’m so thankful that I came across it! 😁 

I do stress though, if you are doing brilliantly on Slimming World, then stick to it! Don’t change just because I said so. You wouldn’t jump off a bridge if I said so would you? (PLEASE DONT.) 

If you have any questions at all about Calorie Counting, then PLEASE don’t hesitate to send me a message ❤️ 

I’ll pop a picture and a link to the app below so you can download the correct one if you fancy giving it a try! 

I hope this helps anyone who may be feeling stuck or hopeless with their weight loss journey 💖

And once again, Thankyou ever so much for reading! 🙋🏻❤️💪🏻🍃 

⬇️⬇️⬇️ 

My Fitness Pal 💪🏻

Leave a Reply

