Epilepsy and I ðŸ’Š

Helloooo my absolute stars ✨ first off, Thankyou for making your way to my page,  I appreciate it majorly! and I’m also sorry if you follow me on a pure Diet basis, as this won’t be very diet related! 

So, if you’ve followed me for a while on Instagram, you’ll be aware of some of my epileptic journey.

One of the main reasons why I wanted to write this blog is because I had no f*cking idea what these ‘seizures’ were to start with, and if I can help even just 1 person out there who may be thinking ‘what the hell is happening to me?!’ That would be my aim in life complete  âœ… 

So, it all started when I was 13! I was in year 8 or 9 at school, believe it or not that was a while ago! 

I was in a P.E lesson, playing basketball (which I was shit at 😂). And all of a sudden I stopped, stood still and all I remember is staring at the floor thinking ‘what the f*ck’! 

I didn’t think anything of it and carried on with my shitty school day! Little did I know these ‘things’ were going to haunt me for years to come! 

So, what happens? THIS is the MOST IMPORTANT bit that I would LOVE everyone to read! 

It all starts with a 2 second initiation phase, kind of like your brain is warning you it’s happening. You can just feel it coming… This is the BEST time to yell for assistance! 

Then your brain starts playing scenarios as if you were having DEJAVU. This is the biggest symptom in order for a doctor to pinpoint that this is epilepsy. 

You have no control, your brain stops, you can’t stop it, and you can’t focus. It’s almost like your brain shuts off and does it’s own thing. 

You stand still and can’t speak, it’s like you’re paralysed! 

Afterwards, you feel like a zombie! You become so drained and shattered, and not to mention wobbly! You have to catch your breath (and potentially saliva) which you’ve just lost for the length of the seizure! 

Now when I started having these seizures around people, I’d mention that they’d last around 30 seconds, to which whitnesses would respond ‘oooh no, it was more like 3 minutes!’

This was so so scary for me! So ofcourse I went to the doctors. 

Long story short, I’d been going to the doctors for years, 4 years to be precise. 

The first few times I went, the doctor would say, you’re just stressed OR you’re having a panic attack… 

I stressed to them on several occasions that I was NOT stressed at the time of them occurring! There was no pattern and nothing in particular that set them off! 

One doctor even said, ‘but you’ve been referred already, and there’s nothing wrong with you’ …. NO I HAVENT! 😡 

I even googled my symptoms once, which is obviously not recommended, as it’ll more than likely suggest you’re dying… but it came up with this certain type of epilepsy, so I mentioned it to the doctor… ‘ *GIGGLES* don’t be silly, You don’t have epilepsy!’ 

I was getting so angry! These attacks were getting more frequent and even worse! I started getting numb hands during the most recent ones I’ve had. Anyway… 

One day, I was so fed up and quite frankly worried to death, that I called the doctors and asked for an immediate appointment! 

That day was my lucky day! 🍀 

It just so happened that my doctor was off sick, and there was a replacement doctor on. I was literally screaming at the poor guy! God help him! 

And then he said something that I literally could have kissed him for! 

‘It sounds to me, by what you’re describing, like you’re suffering from something called Temporal Lobe Epilepsy.’ 

Shiiiiiit…💩

Scary. 

BUT WHAT DID I SAY?!?!?!?! IVE BEEN SAYING THIS FOR YEARS, AGHHHHHHH 

ANYWAY! So he referred me to the hospital and I began to see a neurologist. The first time I saw my neurologist and explained my symptoms, he concluded exactly the same thing! I’d felt so neglected by my doctors! Although I’m not complaining because my neurologist is absolutely sexy AF 😈 (let’s hope he doesn’t see this!) 

I had an MRI (awful things!) 2 EEG’s and several ECG’s…

Then finally, THIS Monday just gone, 3rd July 2017, after 7 years of thinking ‘what the f*ck is wrong with me’ … I was diagnosed with Temporal Lobe Epilepsy. 

Best, yet most odd day of my life 🙋🏻 

So, all i’d like to ask of you guys, is… 

Please be aware that Epilepsy isn’t just the type where people face-plant the floor and shake mega loads. What I have is a type of ‘absent’ Epilepsy and it’s just as scary and dangerous! 👎🏻

I’ve had so many lovely messages from so many gorgeous people, and if you’re reading this then please know that I love you with all my heart! ❤️

Thankyou for reading, my absolute gorgeous friends and family 😘🙋🏻💖🍃 

Leave a Reply

